Advisory Board

Em. Prof.dr. Jan Verhoef is a Medical Microbiologist and from 1970-2010 Professor at Utrecht University and visiting professor at the University of Minnesota and Stanford. Jan was co-founder and first president of the European Society for Clinical Microbiology and Infectious Diseases (ESCMID). In 2000 he set up the European Network ENARE. He is the president of the World Healthcare Forum.

Dr. Marleen van den Horst is partner IP & Technology at the Dutch law firm BarentsKrans N.V., where she heads the Healthcare & Life Sciences Industry Group. Marleen is internationally renowned for her  contentious and non-contentious  patent, regulatory and product liability work in Life Sciences.

Dr. Frederick Wittke trained as a physician from Medical School Hannover. Following an academic path in Hannover (Fraunhofer Institute ITEM and MHH), Paris (Hôpital Necker, INSERM), Erlangen (Clinical Microbiology and Hygiene) Frederick decided to move towards the industry in order to becoming a clinical developer. His path (at GSK, Novartis, Debiopharm and MSD) made him grow into a clinical development expert focusing on vaccines development and infectious diseases including AMR. Besides these fields of interest he acts as lecturer for clinical development at the University Hospital of Geneva.

Dr. Elmar Nimmesgern is the Lead of the Global AMR R&D Hub-Secretariat. The Global Antimicrobial Resistance Research and Development Hub, or Global AMR R&D Hub for short, is an initiative of 16 countries, the European Commission and two charitable organisations as well as four observers international R&D funders to help combat antimicrobial drug resistance.

Dr. Peter Jackson, executive director of the AMR Centre, Cheshire, UK, has over 25 years’ experience in the sector, previously holding senior executive roles at Avecia’s Pharmaceutical Products business unit, Zeneca and ICI. During 2015-16, Peter was chairman of the steering committee created to establish the UK’s translational R&D centre focused on antimicrobial resistance, the AMR Centre, and now runs the enterprise as its executive director.

Rogier van Doorn is director of the Hanoi unit of the Oxford University Clinical Research Unit in Vietnam ( and leads laboratory, clinical and community research programmes on antimicrobial resistance. Rogier is an associate professor in clinical microbiology and virology at the Nuffield Department of Medicine, University of Oxford, Oxford, UK.

Remko van Leeuwen is CEO at Madam Therapeutics and BEAM Alliance Officer. Remko has more than 25 years of research experience, both in the industry as well as in the academic arena. Remko has a medical background, and has been trained as a clinical epidemiologist; he has extensive experienced in clinical infectious disease management. Over the last 2 decades, he had various positions in drug development and clinical trial conduct. Remko carries in depth knowledge of product development, including regulatory requirements, medical affairs, biostatistics and data analysis. In 2011 he founded Madam Therapeutics.

What is going on with AMR?
Stay tuned with remarkable global AMR news and developments!